• News
  • Government

County supervisors name Jacob as chair for fifth time

The San Diego County Board of Supervisors on Tuesday unanimously elected Dianne Jacob to a one-year term as chairwoman, marking the fifth time she has been selected since her initial election to the board in 1992.

Jacob, whose district spans most of the eastern two-thirds of the county, said she intends to outline "several initiatives that I believe will help serve as a roadmap for 2014" during a state-of-the-county address at the County Operations Center on Overland Avenue on Jan. 29.

Jacob succeeds Greg Cox, who concluded his term as chairman on Tuesday. Supervisor Bill Horn was elected as vice-chairman, while Supervisor Dave Roberts is chair pro tem.

Jacob is the first supervisor since DeGraff Austin in 1969 to serve five times as chairwoman. Spokesman Steve Schmidt said recently imposed term limits that restrict the supervisors to two four-year terms, or just one more term for those currently on the board, make it unlikely that anyone will match that record.

User Response
0 UserComments