• News
  • Law

McLaughlin to be sworn in as SD County Bar president Dec. 7

Local prosecutor Marcella McLaughlin will be sworn in as president of the San Diego County Bar Association on Dec. 7, while Jon Williams, a partner at Boudreau Williams, will be sworn in as president-elect.

McLaughlin, who has prosecuted cases in the San Diego County district attorney’s office for more than seven years, will become the first Latino to head the San Diego County Bar Association (SDCBA).

She began her legal career in the San Diego city attorney’s office after graduating from California Western School of law in 1998.

In 2004, she was named Latina of the Year by the National Latino Peace Officers Association.

McLaughlin has been an active SDCBA leader for a long time.

She has worked on transitioning the judges' orientation program for new attorneys, formerly known as Bridging the Gap, to a series of seminars for new attorneys to provide them with information vital to practicing in San Diego.

McLaughlin also has worked closely with association leadership during the past year on the move to the new bar center home, which will happen in 2013.

"I look forward to leading the association during this exciting time," she said. "We are fortunate to have a very active and energetic legal community, and I believe that our new bar center, the Bar Center at 401, will better represent the progressiveness of San Diego's lawyers.

"Our hope is that the Bar Center at 401 will truly serve as the 'hub' of our legal community, and we will work in 2013 to redefine how we connect to our clients and our colleagues."

Williams has been elected president-elect and will serve as SDCBA president in 2014.

The 2012 president, Marvin Mizell, will serve on the board for an additional year as immediate past president.

Additionally, attorneys Ilona Antonyan, James Crosby, Ray Estolano, Danielle Hickman and Heather Riley have been elected by the SDCBA’s membership to serve three-year terms on the board.

Incoming president of the SDCBA’s New Lawyer Division, Negeen Mirreghabie, will also serve a one-year term on the SDCBA board of directors in 2013.

Nadia Bermudez, Lawrence Campitiello, Bob Gaglione, Sheryl Graf, Richard Huver, Laura Miller, Patrick Ojeil, Stacie Patterson, Thomas Penfield and Victor Torres will also continue their service on the board.

McLaughlin and all the SDCBA officers will be sworn in at the organization's Stepping Up to the Bar holiday reception Dec. 7, beginning at 5:30 p.m.

The event is open exclusively to SDCBA members.

User Response
0 UserComments