Andrew Haden

United States Attorney’s Office

Young Attorneys 2011: Judge

Andrew Haden is an Assistant United States Attorney for the Southern District of California, assigned to the General Crimes Section. Haden joined the U.S. Attorney’s Office in the fall of 2010, after being selected through the Attorney General’s Honors Program. The Honors Program is a nation-wide federal recruitment program with a distinguished history.

Prior to joining the U.S. Attorney’s Office, Haden served for two years as a law clerk to the Hon. Thomas J. Whelan in the U.S. District Court for the Southern District of California.

A San Diego native, Haden is actively involved in our local community. In 2009, he was appointed by the Presiding Judge of the San Diego Superior Court to serve a four-year term as a commissioner on the County of San Diego’s Juvenile Justice Commission. He is also a graduate of the Louis M. Welsh Chapter and the Hon. Clifford J. Wallace Chapter of the American Inns of Court. From 2009-2010, Haden was the elected president of the Stanford Club of San Diego.

Since 2008, Haden has also served as an adjunct professor at the University of San Diego School of Law, coaching their national moot court teams. In 2009, Haden received the Hon. Richard D. Huffman Award for being the member of the San Diego legal community who made the most significant contribution to USD’s moot court program.

Haden received his B.A. from Stanford University in 2000. Upon graduation, he was commissioned as an officer in the U.S. Navy. Haden served in the Navy for five years, which included two overseas deployments. For his last assignment in the Navy, Haden was the navigator of the guided missile cruiser USS Mobile Bay (CG 53). He received his J.D. from the University of San Diego in 2008.

While in law school, Haden won the University of San Diego School of Law's Paul A. McLennon Sr. Honors Moot Court Competition. He went on to become the chair of the Moot Court Executive Board and distinguished himself in several national moot court competitions. Upon graduation, Haden received the Dean's Distinguished Service Award, the Owen Stark Heriot Award for being the outstanding veteran graduate, and was inducted into the national Order of the Barristers for his achievements in oral advocacy.

Haden was a 2010 recipient of <I>The Daily Transcript</I>’s Young Attorney award.

The Daily Transcript congratulates Young Attorneys 2011

This is the culmination of a peer nominating process that asked San Diego County lawyers to name the best young attorneys in San Diego County who are: Hard-Working & Detail-Oriented, Knowledgeable & Enthusiastic, Ethical & Professional, and Committed to Furthering the Interests of Justice in Society.

Young Attorneys 2011 Finalists


Oleg Cross

Cross Law Group

Andrew Haden

United States Attorney’s Office

Anna Romanskaya

Stark & D'Ambrosio LLP

Practicing 1-2 years

Andrew Botros

Law Office of James D. Scott

Andrew Custer

Foley & Lardner LLP

Melissa Deleon

Deleon Law

Francis DiGiacco

Robbins Geller Rudman & Dowd LLP

Brittanie McCloskey

Law Offices of Daniel Grunbaum

JP Roach

Hughes Marino

Joe Villaseñor

Legal Aid Society of San Diego, Inc.

Practicing 3-5 years

Amanda Allen

Hecht Solberg Robinson Goldberg & Bagley LLP

Alissa Bjerkhoel

California Innocence Project, California Western School of Law

Theresa Bowen

Carpenter Zuckerman & Rowley LLP

Jenny Bratt


Laura Buckley

Higgs, Fletcher & Mack

Robert Chambers, II

McClellan Law Firm

William Concidine

East Village Law Group

Craig Countryman

Fish & Richardson

AnneElise Goetz

Higgs, Fletcher & Mack

Catherine Hanna

Sullivan Hill Lewin Rez & Engel

Ryan Harris

Harris Personal Injury Lawyers

Sondra Levine

UTC Aerospace Systems

Jenna Leyton

Pettit Kohn Ingrassia & Lutz

Joseph McMullen

Seltzer Caplan McMahon Vitek

Julie Park

Morrison & Foerster

Matthew Riopelle

Foley & Lardner LLP

Kristin Rizzo

Rizzo Law Firm

Jason Ross

Higgs, Fletcher & Mack LLP

Andrea Russell

Kirby Noonan Lance & Hoge LLP

Puja Sachdev

Sachdev Legal Group APC

Michelle Schill

Martinez & Schill LLP

Kirsten Solberg

Luce, Forward, Hamilton & Scripps LLP

Tyler Theobald

Paul, Plevin, Sullivan & Connaughton

Robert Williams


Practicing 6-7 years

Alyson Amerson

Doyle Lowther LLP

Ilona Antonyan

The Law Office of Ilona Antonyan, APC

Jimmy Cheng


Bibianne Fell

Fleming & Fell PC

Ariel Javier

Law Office of Ariel A. Javier

Dan Kehr

Kehr Law

Brooke Kim


Chris Lawson

San Diego District Attorney's Office

Kate Mangan

Mayer Mangan

Megan Mazza

Allen Matkins

Ashley Palmer

Robbins Umeda LLP

Rachel Scatizzi

Seltzer Caplan McMahon Vitek

Brett Schreiber

Thorsnes Bartolotta McGuire

Jason Sheinberg

San Diego Law Firm

Sean Stapleton

Alere Inc.

Devin Storey

The Zalkin Law Firm PC

David Zachry

Procopio, Cory, Hargreaves & Savitch LLP

Get Involved

Don't miss this opportunity to recognize your peers or congratulate the San Diego Young Attorneys. Highlight your company's expertise by advertising or sponsoring Young Attorneys 2011.

Contact us at 619.232.4381 or to receive additional information today!

Important Dates

Nominations Open: September 14
Nominations Close: October 26
Nominees Announced: November 2
Finalists Notified: November 4
Sponsorship/Advertising: December 13
Publication Date: December 21


Past Events

Young Attorneys reception

Transcript reporter Doug Sherwin talks to Nadia P. Bermudez of the Brown Law Group LLP at the 2007 Young Attorneys reception.