Caroline Choi

Solomon Ward Seidenwurm & Smith LLP

6-7 years

Caroline Y. Choi is a member of the family law department at Solomon Ward Seidenwurm & Smith LLP. Choi has worked on a wide range of cases related to divorce, including cases involving child custody and visitation, child and spousal support, and the division of assets. Choi assists in complex cases, including several high-profile and high-net-worth cases.

Choi is a frequent contributor to The Huffington Post as an independent blogger on all issues related to family law. Additionally, Choi aims to educate the public on issues related to family law as founder and chief editor of Divorce Confidential, a website focused on helping individuals navigate through their divorce. 

Choi is well-versed in French and Korean, and completed language studies abroad in Montpellier, France, and Seoul, Korea. Choi is a board member for the Korean American Bar Association of San Diego and recently served as secretary for the 2013 and 2014 calendar years.

Choi is actively involved in the San Diego community as a volunteer member of Bridge of Hope San Diego, a nonprofit dedicated to working with refugees and distressed families in need of assistance.

Choi is from Toronto, Canada, and graduated from Ryerson University with a degree in broadcast journalism in 2000. After obtaining her undergraduate degree, Choi worked as an on-air reporter for a local television station and later transitioned to become a producer and bureau chief for Business News Network, Canada’s only all-business and financial news channel. Prior to attending law school, Choi also worked as a television producer for "CNN Money" in New York City. 

Choi obtained her Juris Doctor from Chapman University’s Dale E. Fowler School of Law in 2007, where she received top honors in legal research. Choi was sworn into the California State Bar in 2007. During law school, she externed for the Hon. Ellen A. Carroll of the United States Bankruptcy Court for the Central District of California and the Hon. Judge Erithe A. Smith of the United States Bankruptcy Court for the Central District of California.

The Daily Transcript congratulates Young Attorneys 2014

This is the culmination of a peer nominating process that asked San Diego County lawyers to name the best young attorneys in San Diego County who are: Hard-Working & Detail-Oriented, Knowledgeable & Enthusiastic, Ethical & Professional, and Committed to Furthering the Interests of Justice in Society.

Young Attorneys 2014 Finalists

1-2 years

Wana Bernales

The Bernales Law Firm

Jessica Blas

The Law Offices of Beatrice L. Snider APC

Irina Doliner

Gruenberg Law

David Gibbs

Law Offices of David B. Gibbs

Kira Guisto

Frantz Law Group

Amy Hsiao

Hsiao Law

James Kaen


Sasha Kamfiroozie

Law Offices of Hickman & Robinson LLP

Matthew Odgers

Law Offices of Matthew W. Odgers

Ronza Rafo

The Law Office of Ronza J. Rafo

Patrick Raue

Wood, Smith, Henning & Berman LLP

Parisima Roshanzamir

Gomez Trial Attorneys

Irina Sherbak

Law Offices of Irina Sherbak APC

Jayme Simpson

Simpson-Myrick LLP

Aisha Williams

Qualcomm Inc.

3-5 years

Lauren Bates

Pettit Kohn Ingrassia & Lutz PC

Jeff Boerneke

Latham & Watkins LLP

Elizabeth Call

Green Bryant & French LLP

John Clayton

Harris Personal Injury Lawyers Inc.

Melissa Deleon

Deleon Law

Jason Evans

Casey Gerry Schenk Francavilla Blatt & Penfield LLP

Jenn French

Leventhal Law Firm

Jordon Harlan

Berman & Riedel

Nicole Heeder

Law & [M]ocean

Tim Johnson

Ogletree Deakins

Pejman Kharrazian

Epsten Grinnell & Howell APC

Jonathan Liu

Fisher & Phillips LLP

Stacey O’Neill

Jurewitz Law Group

Karen Potter

McKenna, Long & Aldridge LLP

Ian Schuler

Lorber, Greenfield & Polito LLP

Brooke Tabshouri

Fisher & Phillips

Lisa Yun

Sheppard, Mullin, Richter & Hampton

6-7 years

Amanda Allen

Aguirre Allen Law

Rebecca Blain

Thorsnes Bartolotta McGuire

Jennifer Casler-Goncalves

Latham & Watkins LLP

Caroline Choi

Solomon Ward Seidenwurm & Smith LLP

Emily Fox

Wilson Turner Kosmo LLP

Jose Garcia

Christensen & Spath LLP

Fernando Landa

Crosbie, Gliner, Schiffman, Southard & Swanson LLP

Lisa Magorien

Andrews, Lagasse, Branch & Bell LLP

Alexander Maniscalco

The Loftin Firm P.C.

John McCarthy

Law Offices of John F. McCarthy

George Miller

Shustak & Partners P.C.

Dwayne Stein

Wingert Grebing Brubaker & Juskie

Michael Weitz

Blanchard, Krasner & French

Craig Wendland

The Frost Firm

Get Involved

Don't miss this opportunity to recognize your peers or congratulate the San Diego Young Attorneys. Highlight your company's expertise by advertising or sponsoring Young Attorneys 2014.

Contact us at 619.232.4381 or to receive additional information today!

Important Dates

Nominations Open September 15
Nominations Close October 31
Nominees Published November 12
Finalists Notified November 14
Sponsorship/Advertising December 12
Publication December 18



Timothy Hutter, Allen Matkins

Associate at Allen Matkins San Diego, Timothy Hutter's drive and passion for law have earned him recognition as a top Young Attorney for 2012 by The Daily Transcript.

Past Events

Young Attorneys reception

Transcript reporter Doug Sherwin talks to Nadia P. Bermudez of the Brown Law Group LLP at the 2007 Young Attorneys reception.