• News
  • Education

Five at UCSD named fellows of American Academy of Arts & Sciences

The American Academy of Arts & Sciences (AAAS) announced Thursday that five faculty members at the University of California, San Diego were named fellows of the academy.

The five are among 196 new fellows and 17 new foreign honorary members in the academy’s 225th class.

The new fellows from UCSD are Jack Keil Wolf, professor of electrical and computer engineering at the Jacobs School of Engineering; Ajit P. Varki, professor of medicine and cellular and molecular medicine; Linda Preiss Rothschild and M. Salah Baouendi, professors of mathematics; and Michael L. Norman, professor of physics.

They join 76 current AAAS fellows on the UCSD faculty.

“It gives me great pleasure to welcome these outstanding leaders in their fields,” said Academy President Patricia Meyer Spacks, in a statement. “Fellows are selected through a highly competitive process that recognizes individuals who have made preeminent contributions to their disciplines and to society at large.”

Fellows and members are nominated and elected by current members, comprising scholars and practitioners from mathematics, physics, biological sciences, humanities and the arts, public affairs and business. The academy, which was founded in 1780 by John Adams, John Hancock and other scholars, will welcome this year’s fellows and honorary members at its annual induction ceremony on October 8 in Cambridge, Mass.

User Response
0 UserComments