• News
  • General

Women’s Hall of Fame inducts standout women

The San Diego County Women's Hall of Fame will welcome several standout women at its ninth annual induction ceremony and dinner on March 27 at University of California, San Diego’s Price Center Ballroom East.

The event honors and acknowledges women who significantly contributed to the quality of life in San Diego County.

Awards are granted in the areas of empowerment, activism, trailblazing, cultural competency and historical preservation.

This year’s inductees include:

* UC San Diego pediatric nephrologist Dr. Vivian Reznik who worked to make health care more accessible to San Diego’s diverse populations;

* Anna Sandoval, the first female tribal leader of the Kumeyaay Nation;

* Laura Rodriguez, known as the “matriarch of Barrio Logan,” for helping create the Logan Heights Family Health Clinic and establishing and preserving Chicano Park;

* Justice Judith McConnell, co-founder of the Lawyers Club bar association, who promoted gender equity within the legal profession;

* Dr. Gloria Harris, co-author of a book published on the subject of women’s assertiveness, who aided victimized women in sexual harassment court cases through expert testimony; and,

* Bree Walker, this year’s Spirit of the Hall of Fame Award recipient, who is well known for her groundbreaking work on television as a person with a disability and as part of the first all-women news anchor team in television news.

“This is a diverse group of women whose selfless contributions have advanced social justice and have made a lasting impact on our communities,” said Campus Diversity Officer and Director of the UC San Diego Women’s Center, Dr. Emelyn dela Peña. “Their legacies are an example of how the Hall of Fame embodies UC San Diego’s Principles of Community.”

User Response
0 UserComments