• News
  • Government

Cox elected chairman for county supervisors

Greg Cox

By unanimous vote, the San Diego County Board of Supervisors on Tuesday elected District 1 Supervisor Greg Cox as its chair and District 2 Supervisor Dianne Jacob its vice chair in its first official act of 2013.

District 5 Supervisor Bill Horn was also elected the board’s chair pro tem.

“I’m honored and humbled to be leading a regional government that has been recognized for being one of the best managed governments in the nation and I am looking forward to an exciting year,” Cox said.

Cox’s South County district includes Point Loma, some southern areas in the city of San Diego, the unincorporated community of Bonita and the cities of Chula Vista, Coronado, Imperial Beach and National City.

The election of the board leadership was the first action of the board since Cox, Jacob and freshman District 3 Supervisor Dave Roberts were sworn into office Monday. Cox was re-elected to a fifth term in the November 2012 elections, and Jacobs re-elected to a sixth term.

Prior to his election in District 3, Roberts served as the deputy mayor of Solana Beach. Horn and District 4 Supervisor Ron Roberts, who was the board chair for 2012, were not up for re-election in 2012.

In just more than a month, Cox will carry out the chairman’s duty of delivering the annual State of the County address, scheduled for the evening of Feb. 13 aboard the USS Midway Museum.

User Response
0 UserComments

County of San Diego

Company Website

1600 Pacific Hwy.
San Diego, CA 92101

County of San Diego Executive(s):

Greg Cox

  • Board Supervisor

Ron Roberts

  • Board Supervisor

Related Videos

North Embarcadero transforming

May 14, 2014 -- Reporter Carlos Rico highlights some of the improvements along Harbor Drive that are transforming the look and feel of the San Diego waterfront.