• News
  • General

Chula Vista fills districting commission

The Chula Vista City Council has ratified the appointments of three additional members to the newly formed districting commission, which will recommend four City Council districts to be used in future city elections.

The final three districting commission members are Patty Chavez, former councilmember; Cheryl Goddard, land use and environmental planner for the county of San Diego; and Jerome Torres, senior management analyst and risk manager for the city of Coronado.

Chula Vista is not divided into districts and residents vote for each council candidate citywide. In 2012, voters approved an amendment to the City Charter that City Councilmembers will be elected by geographic district beginning with the 2016 election.

Those running for council must reside in the district they wish to represent and residents will vote only for candidates in their respective district. The mayor will continue to be elected at-large by all voters in the city.

Four members of the new districting commission were recently selected randomly by the city’s Charter Review Commission and the final three were selected by those four members last week. More than 20 applications were received for the districting commission.

All commission members live in and are registered to vote in the city of Chula Vista.

The first four members selected are Rita Buencamino-Andrews, retired analyst from the San Diego City Clerk's office; Dr. John Korey, retired professor; Dr. Reynaldo Monzon, administrator at San Diego State University; and William Richter, administrative associate at Sempra U.S. Gas & Power.

User Response
0 UserComments