• News
  • Real Estate

BOMA SD awards councilmen Gloria, Faulconer

The San Diego Building Owners & Managers Association (BOMA) recently presented its 2012 Public Official of the Year Award to Council President Todd Gloria and Council Member Kevin Faulconer.

"BOMA's Public Officials of the Year are those who work beside BOMA to better San Diego's commercial real estate industry," said Mike Hansen of CBRE and BOMA San Diego president. "This award is for both of their efforts during the approval and construction of the Connections Housing Project located in the heart of downtown at the corner of Sixth Avenue and A Street." The award also reflects their leadership and their willingness to work with BOMA to develop specific regulations designed to ensure the project would not create adverse impacts for BOMA members.

Gloria was elected in 2008 and re-elected to represent District 3 on June 5, 2012. His colleagues unanimously elected him to be the City Council President on Dec. 3. As Chair of the Budget and Finance Committee in 2011 and 2012, Gloria oversaw the development and approval of budgets that stabilized the city's finances after years of cuts, and restored several critical services.

Faulconer became Councilmember for District 2 in January 2006 after winning a special election. He was re-elected later that year and again in 2010 and is serving his second four-year term. He chairs the Audit Committee, and serves on the Rules & Economic Development Committee and the Committee on Budget & Finance.

Previous Public Official of the Year Award recipients include Former Mayoral Candidate and State Assemblyman Nathan Fletcher, CCDC Chair Fred Maas, Councilmember Tony Young, City of San Diego Mayor Jerry Sanders, Councilman Ben Hueso, Sen. Christine Kehoe and Assemblyman George Plescia, among many other distinguished members of the San Diego community.

User Response
0 UserComments