• News
  • Real Estate

History of the TOBY Awards

Each year, the Building Owners and Managers Association presents The Outstanding Building of the Year Awards (TOBY), the most prestigious and coveted awards in the commercial real estate industry. The TOBY Awards honor buildings that demonstrate excellence in overall building operations and management. All facets of a building’s operations and programs are thoroughly evaluated, including building management, operational efficiency, tenant retention, emergency planning and community impact.

The TOBY Awards were created by BOMA in 1985 to salute excellence in the office building industry. Twenty eight years later, it remains the most prominent and comprehensive program of its kind in commercial real estate -- recognizing quality in office buildings and commercial real estate buildings alike -- and awarding excellence in building management.

Since its inception, the TOBY Awards have grown from a modest beginning into a notable program at the local association, regional conference and international levels.

The award categories consist of: Under 100,000 Square Feet; 100,000-249,999 Square Feet; 250,000-499,999 Square Feet; 500,000-999,999 Square Feet; Over 1 Million Square Feet; Historical Building; Renovated Building; Government Building; Suburban Office Park Low Rise (1-5 Stories); Suburban Office Park Mid Rise (6-10 Stories); Industrial Office Building(s); Medical Office Building; and Earth Award.

The mission of the Earth Awards program is to recognize and honor the positive environmental operations that building management teams achieve in preserving the internal and external environments of their properties. Thanks to the Earth Awards program, building owners can raise awareness of their role in providing environment-friendly buildings.

Involvement in the TOBY program has nearly tripled from its introduction and has enjoyed participation from a wide group of BOMA members. The resulting press coverage and public relations opportunities have been nothing short of spectacular in participating cities. TOBY has drawn attention to hundreds of office buildings across the United States and Canada, and to the owners, managers and architects who conceive, operate and design them.

Buildings that win at the local level then advance to the regional level, where one winner from each local competition advances to the eight regional competitions. The eight winners of the regional contests advance to the international competition, where one winner is awarded the prestigious BOMA International TOBY Award.

For more information on the TOBY Awards or Earth Awards, visit the BOMA San Diego web site at bomasd.org.

User Response
0 UserComments