• News
  • Management

Individuals, design firms honored

The American Institute of Architects 2013 Design and Vision Awards

Richard Nowicki (left), president of AIA San Diego, pictured with Kristi Byerss (center), architect at A.P.C and young architect of the year, and Kevin Bussett (right), emerging professionals commissioner for AIA San Diego.

More than a dozen architects were honored for their design work at the American Institute of Architects (AIA) San Diego chapter’s 2013 Design and Vision Awards on Nov. 7.

The ceremony also honored two individuals for their leadership roles in the local architecture field.

M. Boone Hellmann took home the Patron of the Year Award, which is given to an individual or institution that advances San Diego County’s landscape by commissioning and executing construction projects.

Hellmann is the recently retired associate vice chancellor of facilities design and construction at the University of California, San Diego. He helped lead the planning and constructing of nearly 14 million gross square feet of campus classrooms, labs, offices and facilities for the past 28 years.

The second top individual honor went to Kristi Byers, architect at A.P.C. She won the young architect of the year award, which is given to an architect who has shown exceptional leadership and made significant contributions to the profession in an early stage of their career.

Byers began her involvement with the San Diego AIA chapter in 2005 as a committee participant, and then joined the board in 2006 as Young Architects Commissioner, where she spearheaded several successful programs.

Byers is an adjunct faculty member at Woodbury University in San Diego and, in June 2011, became president of Kristi Byers, Architect A.P.C.

As the chapter’s president in 2011, Byers introduced the Good Deeds Program, which encouraged community outreach and collaboration with other organizations. She continues her AIA involvement at the state level as a member of the 2013 Advocacy Advisory Committee.

This year 64 total submissions were received in 10 categories, with 15 total design winners for their work.

In the classic residential category, Heather Johnston Architect took home the Residential Citation Award for its work on the residential project, Casabrava.

The jury said the project “deftly assembles modules fabricated off-site into a composition that defies expectations about manufactured buildings.”

Domus Studio Architecture won the Residential Merit Award, the second award in the classic residential category, for its work on the Platinum Beach House.

The jury said: “This project demonstrates a classic mild-climate approach that seamlessly meshes outdoor and indoor spaces that fold into each other.”

Designer Matthew Segal of Jonathan Segal Architecture was given the Residential Honor Award for his work on the Postal Lofts in Golden Hill.

The jury commented the project was an “outstanding example of adaptive reuse, sustainable design and creative massing resulted in a building that optimized the potential benefits of the site for housing, accommodated required parking spaces with an innovative deck and organized it all through gracious composition.”

There were two awards given in the classic commercial category.

This first went to Roesling Nakamura and Terada Architects, which received the Commercial Merit Award for the La Jolla Shores Lifeguard Station.

The jury noted: “Expressing dynamic form, this entry is unexpected, surprising and relies upon a limited but satisfying range of materials. The cantilevered principle element, overhanging the sidewalk/bicycle path on the west elevation, is particularly striking in its engagement of passersby.”

Luce ET Studio was handed the Commercial Honor Award for the Machine in a Box project.

The jury said: “A strikingly beautiful building that leveraged internal processes to inform the facade, subtle glazing and careful organization of the mass has created an elegant, jewel box that is also highly cost-effective -- overall an unusual and compelling commercial building.”

The classic institutional category released three winners.

LPA Inc. won the Institutional Citation Award for its design of the Coastline Community College, Newport Beach Campus; Miller Hull Partnership took home the Institutional Merit Award for its work on the Structural and Materials Engineering Building; and Richard Meier & Partners Architects LLP was given the Institutional Honor Award for the U.S. Courthouse San Diego.

Brian Church Architecture was awarded in the classic mixed-use category for its design work on Sema4, housing complex.

The jury said: “An elegant and captivating composition sets this project apart as does its thoughtful and understated use of traditional materials, well-suited to combined residential and small-retail uses, is further amplified by a pleasing pedestrian presence linked to its appropriate scale.”

This year’s Design Awards jury elected to honor two projects with a shared Divine Detail Award.

The first went to Luce ET Studio for its Machine in a Box project, a commercial building. Architect Ione R. Steigler took the second Divine Detail Award for the Warner Carrillo Ranch House Restoration & Barn Preservation project.

The Unbuilt Award went to Domus Studio Architecture for its work on the Coronado Bridge Tube project.

The jury said this design was a “visionary proposal that lightly graces a massive and powerful iconic bridge (designed by San Diego legend Robert Mosher) with a beautiful, serpentine structure insinuating itself within the mass without fanfare, while promising to transform a vehicles-only connector into a multimodal conduit with the potential to transform communities on both sides of the channel it traverses.”

The energy efficiency integration award was given to Richard Meier & Partner Architects LLP for its part on the U.S. Courthouse San Diego.

The committee on the environment award went to LPA Inc. for its work on the Coastline Community College, Newport Beach Campus.

The historic preservation award went to Steigler for the Warner Carrillo Ranch House Restoration & Barn Preservation project.

The Urban Solutions Award was won by designer Arturo Echanove from Modulo 7, taller de arquitectura, for the Autism Treatment Clinic Tijuana.

A distinguished panel evaluated the nominated projects and selected the 2013 winners after two days of deliberation.

This year’s jury panel included Mary Brush, principal of Brush Architects LLC in Chicago; Yen Ha, co-founding principal of Front Studio in New York City; Marvin Malecha, professor of architecture and dean of the college of design at North Carolina State University; and Dan Rockhill, professor of architecture at the University of Kansas and executive director of Studio 804 in Lawrence, Kan.

Students from the NewSchool of Architecture and Design created this year’s award plaques given out to all winners.

User Response
0 UserComments