• News

Olazabal leads Titleist Pro V1 sweep on professional golf tours

To say that 2002 is off to a great start for Titleist Pro V1 players would be an understatement. Already, the Pro V1 golf ball has been the choice of five of the first six PGA Tour champions, including Jose Maria Olazabal, who fired a 7-under par 65 in his come-from-behind victory at last month's Buick Invitational. It marked the 28th career victory for Olazabal, including his sixth on the PGA TOUR, and increased the Titleist Pro V1 winning streak on the 2002 PGA TOUR to four.

Olazabal topped the Titleist leaderboard that included eight of the top 10 finishers, including J.L. Lewis and Mark O'Meara who tied for second and John Daly who finished fourth. He joins Sergio Garcia (Mercedes Championships), Phil Mickelson (Bob Hope Chrysler Classic), Chris DiMarco (Phoenix Open) and Matt Gogel (AT&T Pebble Beach National Pro-Am) in Titleist's 2002 PGA TOUR winner's circle.

Titleist Pro V1 players were not only enjoying success at the Buick Invitational, they swept the worldwide professional tours with victories on the Senior PGA, PGA European, South African and Asian Davidoff tours. Five more victories this week increases the victory count for Titleist golf balls on the major worldwide professional tours to 16, compared to one for the nearest competitor.

The golfers involved in these victories include:

* Hale Irwin, who birdied two of the last three holes to win the ACE Group Classic by one shot and added to his Senior PGA TOUR record with his 33rd career victory. Irwin joins fellow Pro V1 player Tom Kite in the 2002 Senior PGA TOUR winner's circle with the victory.

* Justin Rose, who shot a final round 2-under par 68 for a one-stroke victory at the South African Masters.

* Richard Johnson, who won the PGA European Tour's ANZ Championship with a total of 46 points under a modified Stableford scoring format. Pro V1 players have captured four of the first five PGA European Tour titles.

* Thongchai Jaidee, who relied upon the Pro V1 to par the first playoff hole for his first victory of the year at the Asian Davidoff Tour's London Myanmar Open. Jaidee earned the Asian Davidoff Tour's Order of Merit as the leading money winner in 2001.

User Response
0 UserComments