• News

BOMA San Diego solicits entries for Office Building of the Year and Earth awards

Deadline for the awards is April 30

Today, more than ever, Americans feel a strong sense of pride and emotional attachment to buildings that define city skylines. For 18 years, BOMA has recognized the architectural and economic significance of commercial office buildings in the American culture. This year's TOBY awards program promises to have even greater meaning than in years past.

BOMA San Diego recently announced that entries are now being accepted and considered for the 18th Annual TOBY Awards. This prestigious honor is bestowed as the highest mark of excellence for office building management and is the most inclusive program in the commercial real estate industry.

Organizers also announced that a new nomination process has been initiated for 2002. For the first time in the competition's history, buildings must be officially nominated in order to be eligible for the TOBY competition.

Each BOMA member is allowed to nominate up to two buildings for this year's TOBY event. To be nominated for a TOBY is considered one of the most significant honors in the commercial real estate industry. However, it is only the first step of the entry process. To qualify, a building must be at least three years old, 50 percent leased for office purposes, and managed by a BOMA member.

All facets of a building's operations will be thoroughly evaluated during the judging process, including tenant relations programs, community involvement, emergency evacuation procedures and continuing education for building personnel.

The BOMA San Diego TOBY Awards is held in conjunction with BOMA International, and the winners advance to the regional awards held at the end of January 2003.

Additionally, the BOMA Awards will include the third annual Earth Award. This benchmark of excellence will be given to the building management team that demonstrates the "think globally act locally" mantra by managing hazardous waste, environmental risks, recycling, water and energy conservation plans. Ensuring indoor air quality and implementing green purchasing practices rounds out the main points required for consideration.

The judging for the TOBY Awards and the Earth Awards consists of three levels:

* Local: The first competition will be held at the local level by local BOMA associations.

* Regional: Winning entries then advance to the regional level.

* National: Regional winners advance to the final stage at the International level. The panel of judges comprises industry professionals including architects and commercial building managers.

TOBY nominations are due Tuesday, April 30. Entries are due July 15, and the Awards are scheduled for Sept. 10, 2002.

For more information regarding nomination and entry requirements, contact David Sikute of Insignia/ESG at (858) 450-3142 or Peter McConville of Pac West Telecomm at (858) 597-1469. Sikute and McConville are co-chairs of the BOMA San Diego TOBY Awards Committee.

Categories for the TOBY Awards

Under 100,000 square feet

100,000 - 249,999 square feet

250,000 - 499,999 square feet

500,000 - 1 million square feet

Over 1 million square feet

Renovated building

Historical building

Corporate facility

Medical office building

Government building

Suburban office park - low-rise (1-5 stories)

Suburban office park - mid-rise (6-10 stories)

User Response
0 UserComments