• News
  • General

Ernst & Young announces judging panel for the Entrepreneur Of The Year Awards

Related Special Reports

The 2012 independent judging panel to select the regional finalists and winners for the Ernst & Young Entrepreneur Of The Year award was announced Friday. The panel comprises local business leaders, including previous winners of the award, leading CEOs and private capital investors.

This year's award winners will be announced at the Hyatt Aventine, La Jolla on June 13.

The judges are:

Alan Gold, Chairman and CEO, BioMed Realty Trust, 2008 San Diego winner & 2008 national winner; Andrew Clark, president and CEO, Bridgepoint Education, 2008 San Diego winner; David Kabakoff, executive partner, Sofinnova Ventures; Ernest Rady, director and chairman, American Assets, 2009 San Diego winner & 2009 national winner; Gail Naughton, chairman and CEO, Histogen Inc.; Garry Ridge, president and CEO, WD-40 Co., 2006 San Diego winner; Gary Sabin, chairman and CEO, Excel Trust, 1998 San Diego winner; Jason Levin, president, Dos Gringos, 2011 San Diego winner; Magda Marquet, founder and co-chair, Althea Technologies, 2005 San Diego winner; Mark Dankberg, chairman and CEO, ViaSat, 2000 San Diego winner; Peter Farrell, chairman and CEO, ResMed, 1998 San Diego winner & 2005 national winner; Polina Braunstein, president and CEO, Quake Global, 2009 San Diego winner; Russ Mann, CEO, Covario, 2010 San Diego winner; Tina Nova, president, Genoptix, 2007 San Diego winner.

"Our panel of 14 judges includes a diverse group of professionals that span a variety of industries – many of them entrepreneurs in their own right," said Dan Kleeburg, director of the Entrepreneur Of The Year program in San Diego. "Many have won the Entrepreneur Of The Year award in the past and understand what it takes to be an innovator and an entrepreneur especially in a challenging economy."

Awards are given to entrepreneurs who have demonstrated excellence and extraordinary success in such areas as innovation, financial performance and personal commitment to their businesses and communities. Self-nominations are encouraged, and there is no fee. Application forms must be received by March 23.

Entrepreneurs eligible for consideration include company founders, leaders of multi-generation family businesses and transformational public and private company CEOs. The nominee's company must be at least two years old.

User Response
0 UserComments

Ernst & Young

Company Website

4370 La Jolla Village Dr. Ste., 500
San Diego, CA 92122

Ernst & Young Executive(s):

Mark Stephens

  • Managing Partner

Related Videos

Entrepreneur Of The Year 2012 finalist: Reid Carr

Sept. 6, 2012 -- George Chamberlin speaks with Reid Carr, president and CEO of Red Door Interactive, about the growth of his Internet marketing company.

Watch all videos in this series.