• News
  • Real Estate

Nominate a building for the 2010 TOBY Awards

Related Special Reports

Each year, BOMA San Diego presents The Outstanding Building of the Year Awards (TOBY), the most prestigious and coveted awards in the commercial real estate industry. The TOBY Awards honor buildings that demonstrate excellence in overall building operations and management. All facets of a building’s operations and programs are thoroughly evaluated, including building management, operational efficiency, tenant retention, emergency planning and community impact.

“Property managers and service vendors are encouraged to nominate buildings that exemplify excellence,” said Joy Cole, BOMA San Diego president. “The recognition and press coverage received for winning is outstanding, and the personal achievement and accolades on a professional level in being involved with a winning building are unmatched.”

The deadline for nominations is April 23.

The TOBY Awards were created by BOMA in 1985 to salute excellence in the office building industry. Twenty-three years later, it remains the most prominent and comprehensive program of its kind in commercial real estate, recognizing quality in office buildings and awarding excellence in office building management.

Since its inception, the TOBY Awards have grown from a modest beginning into a notable program at the local association, regional conference and international levels.

The award categories consist of: Under 100,000 Square Feet; 100,000-249,999 Square Feet; 250,000-499,999 Square Feet; 500,000-One Million Square Feet; Over One Million Square Feet; Historical Buildings; Corporate Headquarters Facilities; Renovated Buildings; Government Buildings; Suburban Office Parks; Industrial Office Parks; and Medical Office Buildings.

Involvement in the TOBY program has nearly tripled from its introduction and has had the participation of a wide group of BOMA members.

“The resulting press coverage and public relations opportunities have been nothing short of spectacular in participating cities,” continued Cole. “TOBY has drawn attention to hundreds of office buildings across the United States and Canada, and to the owners, managers and architects who conceive, operate and design them.”

Buildings that win at the local level advance to the regional level, where one winner from each local competition advances to the eight regional competitions. The eight winners of the regional contests advance to the international competition, where one winner is awarded the prestigious BOMA International TOBY Award.

To nominate a building, complete the TOBY nomination form at bomasd.org, by April 23. For more information on the TOBY Awards, contact the BOMA office at 619-243-1817.

User Response
0 UserComments