• News
  • Government

Nominations for ‘The Outstanding Building of the Year’ Award now under way

Submission deadline is May 11, 2012

Related Special Reports

Each year, BOMA San Diego presents The Outstanding Building of the Year Awards (TOBY), the most prestigious and coveted awards in the commercial real estate industry. The TOBY Awards honor buildings that demonstrate excellence in overall building operations and management. All facets of a building’s operations and programs are thoroughly evaluated, including building management, operational efficiency, tenant retention, emergency planning and community impact.

“Property managers and service providers are encouraged to nominate buildings that exemplify excellence,” said Audrey Doherty, executive director of BOMA San Diego. “The recognition received for winning is outstanding, and the personal achievement and accolades on a professional level in being involved with a winning building are unmatched.”

The TOBY Awards were created by BOMA in 1985 to salute excellence in the office building industry. Twenty-seven years later, it remains the most prominent and comprehensive program of its kind in commercial real estate, recognizing quality in office buildings and awarding excellence in office building management.

Since its inception, the TOBY Awards have grown from a modest beginning into a notable program at the local association, regional conference and international levels.

The Aventine, owned and managed by Glenborough, LLC, won the Earth Award category in last year’s TOBY Awards.Photo courtesy of BOMA San Diego

The award categories consist of: under 100,000 square feet; 100,000-249,999 square feet; 250,000-499,999 square feet; 500,000-1 million square feet; over 1 million square feet; Historical Buildings; Corporate Headquarters Facilities; Renovated Buildings; Government Buildings; Suburban Office Parks; Industrial Office Parks; Earth Award and Medical Office Buildings.

“The resulting press coverage and public relations opportunities have been nothing short of spectacular in participating cities,” Doherty said. “TOBY has drawn attention to hundreds of office buildings across the United States and internationally, and to the owners, managers and architects who create, operate and design them.”

Buildings that win at the local level then advance to the regional level where one winner from each local competition advances to the eight regional competitions. The eight winners of the regional contests advance to the international competition where one winner is awarded the prestigious BOMA International TOBY Award.

For more information or to nominate a building, please complete the TOBY nomination form at bomasd.org by May 11, 2012.

User Response
0 UserComments