• News
  • Lifestyle

12th annual Women's Hall of Fame

Local women to be honored for life’s work

Related Special Reports

On March 16, 2013, hundreds of guests will gather at the University of California, San Diego’s Price Center East Ballroom to honor and acknowledge the community work of five San Diego women.

The purpose of the annual induction of women into the Women's Hall of Fame is to make women's actions and accomplishments visible in San Diego. So far, 63 women have taken their place in the San Diego County Women's Hall of Fame.

At this 12th annual ceremony, Melissa Mecija from Channel 10 will serve as emcee for the evening program and Judge Maureen Hallahan will serve as the Induction Officiate.

Dr. Constance Carroll, Betty Evans Boone, Irma Castro, Aurora Soriano Cudal and Dorothy Hom will be acknowledged for their contributions to the community. “Those chosen represent and reflect the diversity of our community. They have all selflessly and courageously contributed greatly to San Diego and the world at large,” said Ashley Gardner, executive director of the Women’s Museum of California. “Their lifetime work and achievements have improved the lives of many and have left a lasting impact. They are the unsung heroes of our time whose stories can be inspiring to all of us.” Awards are granted in the areas of empowerment, activism, trailblazing, bridge building and historical preservation.

This year's inductees include:

*Dr. Constance Carroll is a trailblazer as the first woman to become Chancellor of the San Diego Community College District. She led the successful statewide effort to provide equitable funding for community colleges, and is an activist in improving educational opportunities for women, minorities and disadvantaged students.

*Betty Evans Boone significantly improves the lives of women in San Diego. Her contributions include her efforts to increase the hiring of female lawyers in San Diego in the 1960s, her 41 years of ongoing and active participation in the Lawyers Club, and her extensive community service work and mentoring.

*Irma Castro improves women's lives by creating structural change in San Diego. She has been actively involved in community enrichment, development, education and mentoring for more than 30 years, most notably through the Chicano Federation, Las Niñas de Aztlán, and Casa Familiar.

*Aurora Soriano Cudal, D. Hum. (h.c.) is an advocate for social justice and Filipino-American community empowerment. For the last 20 years, she has demonstrated outstanding leadership, excellence in community service and extensive coalition building in San Diego.

*Dorothy Hom (1932-1999) worked to preserve and share her culture and history in San Diego. She was instrumental in forming the Chinese Historical Society of Greater San Diego and Baja California. She was one of the founders of the Gaslamp Quarter District, which resulted in the preservation of more than 20 historic buildings.

In 2001, the four co-hosts of the San Diego County Women's Hall of Fame organized the first Hall of Fame event at UC San Diego to honor and acknowledge women who have significantly contributed to the quality of life in the community and have made outstanding volunteer contributions in San Diego County. The Women's Hall of Fame is a collaborative effort organized by the Women's Museum of California, the Department of Women's Studies at San Diego State University, the Women's Center at UC San Diego, and the San Diego County Commission on the Status of Women. The ongoing goal of the Women's Hall of Fame is to recognize and celebrate the contributions made by outstanding local women.

The induction ceremony is open to the public.

Reservations and more information about the 2013 San Diego County Women's Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony and Dinner are posted on the Women's Hall of Fame website: womenshalloffamesd.org

For more information, call the Women's Museum of California at 619-233-7963.

User Response
0 UserComments